Your Profile is where other Fans can discover things such as your Content, Favourites, Unlocks, etc, as well as where you can manage things such as your Comments, Friends and your Profile itself.
Each profile has a large header image, which will initially have a default image, and a Profile or Avatar image, which will also show a default image. Both of these can be customised. Within the frame of the profile/avatar image you will see a Level Progress Bar. This shows the current Level the user is, as well as their progress towards the next level, represented as an orange progress bar.
Next to this will be their name, a Verified tick if they are a verified LIS content creator or a member of the development team or website staff, and an Online Status status.
Below these will be the user’s Nickname and Country (if they filled in those fields).
Beneath the main header is the profile navigation bar. This features the following components:
Activity – This shows the latest Activity for the user, including Status updates, items they’ve unlocked, such as Achievements or Cards and also Card Pack or Prop purchases. If this is your own profile, you’ll also see a Status Update section, where you can post status updates like Facebook. There’s more about posting Status Updates further down below.
Posts – This shows the content the user has posted such as Fan Art, Cosplay, etc. The latest posts are shown first, but filters are provided to narrow down results. You will need to select a Content Type first using the provided dropdown in order to see all the relevant context-based filters.
Favourites – This will show all the content that has been Favourited by the user. The latest posts are shown first, rather than them being ordered by the order in which they were Favourited, but filters are provided to narrow down results. You will need to select a Content Type first using the provided dropdown in order to see all the relevant context-based filters.
Cards – This will show all the Cards owned by the user. Filters are provided to narrow down results, such as by Card Type, Season, Characters, etc. Not that how the Cards are displayed is dependent on your own Card earnings. In other words, any Cards listed here that you have not yet earned yourself will show the locked/reverse side of the Card. The number indicating the quantity of certain Cards owned will also be in the context of how many of them YOU own and not how many the user whose profile you’re viewing owns.
Friends – This lists the people the user is Friends with on the site. Each listing shows the user’s avatar – along with their Level Progress – Name, and Last Online status. If you are viewing your own profile, you will also see an ‘Unfriend’ button. Click this to Unfriend them. Note that there is a also a Requests button at the top of the listing. This is where any Friends Requests you’ve received will be shown and you can either Accept or Deny them.
Messaging – This is where you can manage your Messages with other users on the site. Life Is Strange Fans features a live messaging system with channels for each conversation.
You’ll see a list of your conversations on a left sidebar under the Messages tab. Click the Friends tab to see a list of your Friends and click their name to either jump to an existing conversation if you’ve already chatted with them before, or start a new conversation if you haven’t. Note that as per user chat settings, some users will only allow confirmed Friends to message them.
The main chat window shows chat in a conversation view with your own messages shown with a grey background and other user’s messages shown with an orange background (Note: This is on the default Light Mode view – in Dark Mode, the user’s messages have a slightly darker grey background).
Chats have read receipts which indicates when someone has read the message. When messages are initially sent you will see a single grey checkmark/tick. This will turn into a double grey checkmark/tick when it has been received. Finally, those 2 checkmarks/ticks will turn orange once the user has actually seen/read the message. If you hover over the checkmarks/ticks you will see the current status in a tooltip.
You can right-click over a message for additional options.
Copy Text – Click this to copy the whole text of the message to clipboard.
Reply – Click this to reply directly to the message. The message will show above the chat text entry box. You can click the X icon to remove it an cancel the reply.
Delete – Unless you’re an Admin, the Delete option will only show on your own messages. Once you click the Delete option you’ll be asked to confirm your intentions in a pop up alert window.
Click ‘OK’ to delete the message. A notification will appear in the bottom left of the screen to confirm that the message has been deleted.
You can also ‘react’ to messages by hovering over the message and clicking the default ‘Thumbs Up’ icon to reveal more possible reaction emojis. Click either of them to react to the message.
Emojis can also be used in your own messages. Click the emoji icon in the chat text entry box to reveal all the usual emojis.
Files can also be attached to messages, including images. Click the paperclip icon in the chat text entry box to reveal the attachment popup window and either drag the file into the window or browse for the file on your device.
Once the file is attached, you have the option of sending it right away by clicking the ‘Send Now’ button or you can click the X icon in the top-right. This will return you to the chat where you can enter a message to go along with the attachment, but you will ntoice that there is a number next to the paperclip icon which denotes that a file is attached.
After posting, the message will be sent within a frame along with the attachment.
In the top-right of the main message module, there are 3 icons with extra options.
Maximise – This will maximise the chat window to take up the whole screen.
Minimise – This will minimise the window to a ‘mini chat’ popup window on the bottom of the screen.
More – Clicking this 3-dots icon will reveal extra Chat Options.
The options include:
Mute Thread – This will stop any Notifications of new messages in this particular thread.
Add New Participants – This will only show if you have authority to add new users to a thread – Admins can invite participants to any thread. Other users can inviter users to group threads if they have that authority.
Clear Messages – This will clear all messages in this particular thread – if you have the authority to clear messages.
Block User – This will only show in private threads between 2 users and will block the other user so they can no longer message you.
Delete Thread – This will delete the entire thread. The option will only appear if you have the authority.
At the bottom of the sidebar you’ll see your avatar and name along with your Online Status. Clicking anywhere here will bring up the Online Status settings, allowing you to set your status. The options are Online, Away and Do Not Disturb.
The cog icon on the left will bring up the Chat Settings with various settings.
- You can limit who can private message you to Friends only, or Nobody if you don’t want anyone to be able to message you on the site.
- You can enable or disable Email Notifications of Sound Notifications of New Messages.
- You can enable or disable Browser Push’ Notifications. These refer to browser notifications that will alert you of new messages even while the browser is closed or you’re on a different website in a different tab.
- You can view and manage any users you have Blocked.
COMMENTS – This section will only show while viewing your own profile and lists any comments you’ve made on posts around the site.
You will see the comment itself framed within a block that also lists the title of the post at the top, along with the date it was posted. Click the ‘View Comment’ button on each post to jump directly to the comment. This will take you to the post the comment is attached to and will automatically scroll to the actual comment in question.
INFO – This section lists basic info about the user, such as their First Name, Last Name, Nickname and Country. What appears here will depend on what privacy settings the user has enabled. For example, some users may only display the Last Name for confirmed Friends. This can be controlled in the Account Settings.